The Rules of Golf: 18-1 – Ball Moved by Outside Agency

ENJOY THIS FREE VIDEO!
Watch even more great videos when you become a PGA Digital Academy Subscriber!
  • Choose Annual or Monthly Plan
  • Bonus Video Downloads
  • New Videos Every Week
  • View on Computer or Mobile
Learn More

In this video, Mark Wilson shows an example of USGA Rule 18-1 from the rules of golf. This rule pertains to when a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency. There isn’t a penalty towards the player if their ball at rest was moved by an outside agency; however, they are required to replace the ball. Follow along as he explains the different elements and penalties of this rule.

Discussion
  • (will not be published)

3 Responses to “The Rules of Golf: 18-1 – Ball Moved by Outside Agency”
  1. Alan Milton

    I was playing in a Tournament and had a question on my ball being run over with a cart.By looking at how grass was laying,my opponent and myself decided that it wasn’t run over.An official came over and asked what the problem was.We told him we decided that I got no relief.He chided me even if cart did ride over my ball,I wouldn’t get relief.What is the rule?

    Reply
  2. Alan Milton

    What about outside agency?I was playing in a Tournament and had a question on my ball being run over with a cart.By looking at how grass was laying,my opponent and myself decided that it wasn’t run over.An official came over and asked what the problem was.We told him we decided that I got no relief.He chided me even if cart did ride over my ball,I wouldn’t get relief.What is the rule?

    Reply

Tags: golf penalties, rules of golf, rules of the game

FREE

NEWSLETTER

  • GET NEW VIDEOS

    Get our best tips and techniques delivered to your inbox every week.

  • GET SPECIAL OFFERS

    Don't miss out on special offers from us and our trusted partners.