What Happens When You Putt The Wrong Ball

ENJOY THIS FREE VIDEO!
Watch even more great videos when you become a PGA Digital Academy Subscriber!
  • Choose Annual or Monthly Plan
  • Bonus Video Downloads
  • New Videos Every Week
  • View on Computer or Mobile
Learn More

You accidentally replace your ball in front of the wrong marker on the putting green, and realize after your stroke that you’ve putted from a playing partner’s spot. Mistakes happen. In match play, you would automatically lose the hole. In stroke play, you’d incur a penalty of strokes, but the amount you tack on depends on how you handle the situation and whether you sink the subsequent putt.

In this lesson, Mark Wilson of the PGA Rules Committee teaches you what to do in the event of playing the wrong ball on the putting green so you incur the smallest stroke penalty possible. You’ll learn how to adhere to the rules of golf to navigate the scenario if you make the putt and then realize your mistake, as well as if you miss the putt. Take the proper steps in correcting the mishap, and you can save yourself the cost of double penalties. Utilize this information; it could mean the difference between a manageable error and a round-ruining gaff!

Discussion
  • (will not be published)

One Response to “What Happens When You Putt The Wrong Ball”
  1. John Stringer

    From your example if I am the innocent party in this where do I putt from? Do I have to agree with my fellow players where the marker was before my opponent incorrectly putted his ball and removed my marker?

    Reply

Tags: Free Videos, hitting the wrong ball, Mark Wilson, putting, Putting Green, rules of golf

FREE

NEWSLETTER

  • GET NEW VIDEOS

    Get our best tips and techniques
    delivered to your inbox every week.

  • GET SPECIAL OFFERS

    Don't miss out on special offers
    from us and our trusted partners.